2021 Alumnus of the Year

2021 Pillow Academy Alumnus of the Year

The 2021 Pillow Academy Alumnus of the Year is Dr. Todd Fincher. Dr. Fincher attended Pillow for six years. As a member of the Class of 1975, he belonged to many clubs and organizations.

After leaving Pillow, Todd attended Mississippi Delta Junior College, he earned a Bachelor of Science from Mississippi State University and a Master of Science from Delta State University.  He received his doctor of dental surgery from Louisiana State University School of Dentistry in New Orleans. Upon graduation from dental school, Todd and his wife, Laura, returned to Greenwood. He has been in private practice since 1986 and served as a clinical professor at MDCC Dental Hygiene School.  Currently Todd practices dentistry in Greenwood and Columbus, MS.  He participates in the Healthy Start dental program for children. He has helped with many civic events including Bikes, Blues and Bayou.  He has volunteered his dental services for numerous mission trips, including five trips to Cameroon, West Africa.

Todd is very active in the First Presbyterian Church where he has served as a past deacon and is a current elder.   Todd has remained very active with Pillow Academy as an alumni, a parent and currently a grandparent.  He was a member of the Pillow school board and was instrumental in building the girls soccer program.  He served as a coach of the Lady Mustang soccer team alongside the legendary Bobo Champion for eight years.  They coached the Lady Mustang Soccer team in 2 State Championships.

Todd is an avid outdoorsman, enjoying wildlife and habitat management, along with hunting and fishing.  He most enjoys sharing his love for the outdoors with his grandsons. 

Todd and his wife, Laura, have one daughter Kalley Fincher Barlow, Pillow Academy Class of 2004.  Kalley and her husband, Brister Barlow, class of 2002, have three children.  Todd’s three grandchildren attend Pillow Academy—Madison Barlow, a senior, Branham Barlow, 8th grade, and Ward Barlow, kindergarten. 



For a list of previous recipients, please click here.